Gibson headlines re-entries for 2013

Aaron Vickers2013 Draft Center

If Christopher Gibson is hoping to carve out a professional career in hockey, it isn’t likely to be with the club that drafted him in 2011.

Gibson, selected 49th overall by the Los Angeles Kings two years ago, is one of almost three dozen players unsigned on the June 1st deadline and will re-enter the 2013 NHL Draft or become unrestricted free agents.

A 2011 draftee not signed by his NHL team within two years of being drafted can re-enter the draft, as long as he is 20 years old or younger at the time of the 2013 NHL Draft. Players over 20 become unrestricted free agents.

Gibson is joined by fellow second rounders Alexandre Ruutuu and Rasmus Bengstton. Goaltenders Samu Perhonen and David Honzik, taken early in the third round, also went unsigned.

Here is who will be re-entering the 2013 NHL Draft.

Christopher Gibson (LAK, 49th overall)
Alexander Ruuttu (PHX, 51st overall)
Rasmus Bengtsson (FLA, 59th overall)
Samu Perhonen (EDM, 62nd overall)
David Honzik (VAN, 71st overall)
Alan Quine (DET, 85th overall)
Justin Sefton (SJS, 89th overall)
Joachim Nermark (COL, 93rd overall)
Gregory Hofmann (CAR, 103rd overall)
Olivier Archambault (MON, 108th overall)
Colin Suellentrop (PHI, 116th overall)
Stefan Soberg (WAS, 117th overall)
Zachary Yuen (WIN, 119th overall)
Brenden Kichton (NYI, 127th overall)
Shane McColgan (NYR, 134th overall)
Alex Lepkowski (BUF, 137th overall)
Simon Karlsson (NAS, 142nd overall)
Philippe Hudon (DET, 145th overall)
Andrew Fritsch (PHX, 155th overall)
Matt Mahalak (CAR, 163rd overall)
Daniel Pribyl (MON, 168th overall)
Peter Ceresnak (NYR, 172nd overall)
Pathrik Westerholm (VAN, 180th overall)
Lars Volden (BOS, 181st overall)
Dillon Donnelly (COL, 183rd overall)
Liro Pakarinen (FLA, 184th overall)
Mitch Theoret (NYI, 185th overall)
Jordan Fransoo (OTT, 186th overall)
Teemu Eronen (STL, 192nd overall)
Michael Schumacher (LAK, 200th overall)
Brent Andrews (NAS, 202nd overall)
Johan Mattsson (CHI, 211th overall)

*Please note list is unofficial