USHL announces Top Prospects Game rosters

Aaron Vickers2017 Draft Center, NCAA, USHL

Photo by Rob Franck Sporting Images

Eeli Tolvanen will headline the 2017 USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

Tolvanen was among the names announced for the showcase, which will be held on Jan. 10, 2017 at The Denny Sanford PREMIER Center, home of the USHL’s Sioux Falls Stampede.

“The development path from junior hockey to college hockey to the NHL continues to be validated each and every year,” said Bob Fallen, USHL President and Commissioner, in a release. “The USHL has produced 30 or more NHL Draft picks in four consecutive years, something only two other junior leagues in the world can say. The USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game is a celebration for all of the youth organizations and the players they helped develop. Most of these players will go on to have very successful college hockey careers, and a select few will continue that success in the NHL.”

Tolvanen, ninth in Future Considerations’ Fall ranking for the 2017 NHL Draft, is tied for the league lead in goals, with 16, and points, at 27, in 23 games played. Twice the Sioux City Musketeers has been named USHL Forward of the Week this season.

Joining Tolvanen at the 2017 USHL/NHL Top Prospects Game is Shane Bowers and Maxim Zhukov.

Bowers, ranked 28th, has nine goals and 18 points in 23 games for the Waterloo Black Hawks this season. Zhukov, ranked 40th, has a 2.62 goals against average and .896 save percentage in 13 appearances.

In all, nine players in Future Considerations’ Fall ranking for the 2017 draft will attend the event.

Goaltenders: Maksim Zhukov (Green Bay Gamblers), Cayden Primeau (Lincoln Stars), Keith Petruzzelli (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Dayton Rasmussen (Tri-City Storm).

Defense: Ben Mirageas (Bloomington Thunder), Jakub Sirota (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Mari Ferraro (Des Moines Buccaneers), Clayton Phillips (Fargo Force), Alexis Binner (Green Bay Gamblers), Eero Teravainen (Lincoln Stars), Ronald Brickley (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Matthew Hellickson (Sioux City Musketeers), Kasper Kotkansalo (Sioux Falls Stampede), John St. Ivany (Sioux Falls Stampede), Mikey Anderson (Waterloo Black Hawks), Michael Karow (Youngstown Phantoms).

Forwards: Marc McLaughlin (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Robert Arrak (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Brannon McManus (Chicago Steel), Walker Duehr (Chicago Steel), Isaac Johnson (Des Moines Buccaneers), Zach Solow (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Santeri Virtanen (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Jack Adams (Fargo Force), Charlie Dovorany (Fargo Force), Joshua Dunne (Green Bay Gamblers), Nolan Moyle (Green Bay Gamblers), Mick Messner (Madison Capitols), Keeghan Howdeshell (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Jordan Timmons (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Greg Printz (Omaha Lancers), Eeli Tolvanen (Sioux City Musketeers), Matthew Quercia (Sioux Falls Stampede), Adam Goodsir (Tri-City Story), Paul Washe (Tri-City Storm), Alex Limoges (Tri-City Storm), Wyatt Bongiovanni (Tri-City Storm), Shane Bowers (Waterloo Black Hawks), Nick Swaney (Waterloo Black Hawks), Nicolas Werbik (Youngstown Phantoms).