Hlavaj, Dion named Raymond-Lagacé nominees

Aaron Vickers2020 Draft Center, QMJHL

Photo by CHL Images

Samuel Hlavaj of the Sherbrooke Phoenix, both eligible for the 2020 NHL Draft and Jacob Dion of the Drummondville Voltigeurs, have been named finalists for the Raymond-Lagacé Trophy as Defensive Rookie of the Year, the QMJHL announced Saturday.

Hlavaj, who went unselected in the 2019 NHL Draft, won 33 of 39 starts and had a .915 save percentage and a QMJHL-best 2.25 goals against average. Hlavaj, who was originally selected in the first round (No. 27) of the 2019 CHL Import Draft, also had three shutouts.

Dion, No. 82 in Future Considerations’ Spring ranking for the 2020 NHL Draft, had 52 points (17 goals, 35 assists) in 63 games with Drummondville this season, one year after the Magog Cantonniers (Midget AAA) to a silver medal at the Telus Cup last season.

Isaac Belliveau of the Rimouski Oceanic, eligible for the 2021 NHL Draft, was also nominated.

It was first awarded in 1981 and has recognized many all-star defensemen and goaltenders over the years such as Philippe Boucher, Samuel Girard and Ondrej Pavelec.