Eligibles shine in OHL award nominations

Aaron Vickers2017 Draft Center, OHL

Photo by Terry Wilson | CHL Images

There was no shortage off outstanding performances in the Ontario Hockey League from members of the 2017 NHL Draft class.

Isaac Ratcliffe of the Guelph Storm, Matthew Strome of the Hamilton Bulldogs, Owen Tippett of the Mississauga Steelheads and Michael DiPietro of the Windsor Spitfires were each named their team’s representative for the Red Tilson Trophy as the OHL’s most outstanding player of the year.

Ratcliffe, 29th in Future Considerations’ Winter ranking for the 2017 draft, led Guelph with 28 goals and finished with 54 points in 67 games with the Storm. Strome, ranked 19th, led the Bulldogs with 34 goals and 62 points in 66 games. Tippett, ranked sixth, led the Steelheads with 44 goals and 75 points in 60 games played.

DiPietro, who was also nominated for goaltender of the year, went 30-12-2 with a 2.35 goals against average and .917 save percentage in 51 regular season games with the Spitfires.

Several other eligibles also received other nominations for their efforts in the 2016-17 regular season.

Adam Ruzicka is among the six finalists nominated for the Ontario Hockey League’s rookie of the year award. Ruzicka, 57th in Future Considerations’ Winter ranking for the 2017 NHL Draft, finished with 25 goals and 46 points in 61 games in his first campaign with the Sarnia Sting.

Joseph Garreffa of the Kitchener Rangers, Nick Suzuki of the Owen Sound Attack and Robert Thomas of the London Knights each received a nod as William Hanley Trophy finalists. The award goes to the league’s most sportsmanlike player.

The 2017 OHL Awards Ceremony is on June 8 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, however award winners will be announced periodically throughout the remainder of the 2017 OHL Playoffs.

Additional player awards, including Humanitarian of the Year, Academic Players of the Year, and the 2016-17 Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy recipient, will also be announced.