CHL names rosters for Top Prospects Game

Aaron Vickers2018 Draft Center, OHL, QMJHL, WHL

Photo by Terry Wilson | CHL Images

Andrei Svechnikov of the Barrie Colts and Filip Zadina of the Halifax Mooseheads highlight the 40 players named to participate in the 2018 Sherwin-Williams CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game.

The game will be held at Sleeman Centre on Jan. 25, 2018.

Players from the Ontario Hockey League, Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and Western Hockey League will compete in the event showcasing the Canadian Hockey League’s top players eligible for the 2018 NHL Draft. They were chosen by all 31 NHL clubs and were divided into teams by NHL Central Scouting.

Svechnikov, second in Future Considerations’ Fall ranking for the 2018 NHL Draft, is the top-ranked CHL skater for the 2018 draft. As a rookie with Barrie, Svechnikov has 11 goals and 17 points in 11 games this season.

Zadina, ranked fifth, is second in QMJHL scoring with 24 goals and 46 points in 32 games as a rookie with Halifax. He’s second in QMJHL scoring.

Joe Veleno (No. 7), Ty Smith (No. 8) and Jared McIsaac (No. 10) were also named to the game.


Goaltenders: Alexis Gravel (Halifax); Kevin Mandolese (Cape Breton).

Defensemen: Calen Addison (Lethbridge); Kevin Bahl (Ottawa); Xavier Bernard (Drummondville); Noah Dobson (Acadie-Bathurst); Jared McIsaac (Halifax); Ty Smith (Spokane).

Forwards: Luka Burzan (Moose Jaw); Cole Fonstad (Prince Albert); Liam Foudy (London); Benoit-Olivier Groulx (Halifax); Anderson MacDonald (Moncton); Ryan McLeod (Mississauga); Allan McShane (Oshawa); Kirill Nizhnikov (Sudbury); Serron Noel (Oshawa); Milos Roman (Vancouver); Riley Sutter (Everett); Andrei Svechnikov (Barrie); Dmitry Zavgorodniy (Rimouski).


Goaltenders: Jacob Ingham (Mississauga); Olivier Rodrigue (Drummondville).

Defensemen: Evan Bouchard (London); Xavier Bouchard (Baie-Comeau); Nico Gross (Oshawa); Ryan Merkley (Guelph); Rasmus Sandin (Sault Ste. Marie); Giovanni Vallati (Kitchener).

Forwards: Aidan Dudas (Owen Sound); Ty Dellandrea (Flint); Eric Florchuk (Victoria); Gabriel Fortier (Baie-Comeau); Barrett Hayton (Sault Ste. Marie); Cam Hillis (Guelph); Vladislav Kotkov (Chicoutimi); Philipp Kurashev (Quebec); Egor Sokolov (Cape Breton); Akil Thomas (Niagara); Joe Veleno (Drummondville); Filip Zadina (Halifax).


Jan. 19 – Liam Foudy will replace Milos Roman, who is unable to play because of injury, on Team Orr.
Jan. 22 – Xavier Bernard will replace Jett Woo, who is unable to play because of injury, on Team Orr.
Jan. 22 – Giovanni Vallati will replace Alexander Alexeyev, who is unable to play because of injury, on Team Cherry.
Jan. 23 – Aidan Dudas will replace Kody Clark, who is unable to compete due to injury, on Team Cherry.