Canada named Hlinka camp roster

Aaron Vickers2014 Draft Center, Tournaments & Events

Canada’s quest for a sixth straight gold at the Ivan Hlinka Memorial has started.

Hockey Canada announced Wednesday the 42 players invited to attend Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team selection camp held from July 25-29 in Toronto, ON.

The roster consists of four goaltenders, 14 defensemen and 24 forwards. Of the 42 invited, 22 will be selected for Canada’s entry at the Ivan Hlinka Memorial in August.

Goaltenders Julio Billia, Payton Lee, Mason McDonald and Brent Moran will compete between the pipes.

Included on the blueline is Aaron Ekblad, Haydn Fleury, Roland McKeown and Jacob Middleton, all of whom are ranked in Future Considerations’ preliminary ranking for the 2014 NHL Draft. Ryan Pilon, ranked in the top-10 for 2015, was also included on the list.

On forward, Sam Bennett, Jake Virtanen, Jared McCann, Brayden Point, Conner Bleackley and Spencer Watson were included on the camp roster.

For a full list of the camp roster, click HERE.