Benson headlines Canada’s Hlinka entry

Aaron Vickers2016 Draft Center, International Events

Tyler Benson, seventh in Future Considerations’ preliminary ranking for the 2016 NHL Draft, was among the 22 players chosen to represent Canada at the Ivan Hlinka Memorial.

The U-18 tournament will be played in Breclav, Czech Republic and Bratislava, Slovakia from Aug. 10-15. Canada has won the tournament in each of the past seven years and 19 times in the 24 times dating back to 1991.

Canada’s roster was selected following a five-day camp in Calgary that featured three intra-squad games.

Benson, the first overall selection in the 2013 WHL Bantam Draft, had 14 goals and 45 points in 62 games for the Vancouver Giants in 2014-15. He’s Canada’s highest-ranked skater for the 2016 draft.

Joining Benson on Canada’s roster is Sam Steel (ranked 9th) of the Regina Pats, Tyson Jost (12th) of the Penticton Vees, Kale Clague (13th) of the Brandon Wheat Kings, Dante Fabbro (20th) of the Vees, Jake Bean (21st) of the Calgary Hitmen, Brett Howden (22nd) of the Moose Jaw Warriors, and Pierre-Luc Dubois (28th) of the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles as players ranked inside the first round at Future Considerations.

Nolan Patrick of the Brandon Wheat Kings, a potential top-5 pick for the 2017 NHL Draft, was also named to the roster.

Canada’s roster for the 2015 Ivan Hlinka Memorial

Goaltenders: Carter Hart, Everett (2016 eligible); Dylan Wells, Peterborough (2016 eligible).

Defense: Jake Bean, Calgary (2016 eligible); Kale Clague, Brandon (2016 eligible); Dante Fabbro, Penticton (2016 eligible); Samuel Girard, Shawinigan (2016 eligible); Josh Mahura, Red Deer (2016 eligible); Victor Mete, London (2016 eligible); David Quenneville, Medicine Hat (2016 eligible).

Forwards: Tyler Benson, Vancouver (2016 eligible); William Bitten, Plymouth (2016 eligible); Dillon Dube, Kelowna (2016 eligible); Pierre-Luc Dubois (2016 eligible); Brett Howden, Moose Jaw (2016 eligible); Tyson Jost, Penticton (2016 eligible); Tanner Kaspick, Brandon (2016 eligible); Jordan Kyrou, Sarnia (2016 eligible); Beck Malenstyn, Calgary (2016 eligible); Michael McLeod, Mississauga (2016 eligible); Nolan Patrick, Brandon (2017 eligible); Zach Poirier, North Bay (2016 eligible); Sam Steel, Regina (2016 eligible).